10/Gui Multi touch Operating System

http://www.youtube.com/v/tf03YBxCyGI?fs=1
New 10/Gui Multi touch Operating System

This entry was posted in Operating system and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 10/Gui Multi touch Operating System

  1. eldiablo858585 says:

    that’s why the magic trackpad has been introduce ? 🙂

  2. XxliveitupxX says:

    This makes a lot of sense, like the experience of using your whole seems just simple yet amazing. But I don’t think this will eliminate the touch screen especially for art and drawing apps.

  3. mraccident says:

    Lets start with a problem in this GUI: How do you switch to typing?
    Now let’s compare – My interaction with the computer isn’t limited to a single point! There is the keyboard and it hes it’s shortcuts, so here goes your whole theory.
    There are even mouse “shortcuts” – Closing a full size window is right in the corner so I don’t need to locate the little X button (or ctrl-W). The same with the scroll bar.
    The thumbnails view and the rest doesn’t seem to be faster when I compare to what I do now.

  4. BestTypoEver says:

    @antoin654 I see your point and I understand why some would like it. I really don’t mind the taskbar though especially in win 7. I don’t care how the windows stack up because the taskbar is always accessible and quick.

    I’ve never ever had to ‘sort through a pile to find a window’ especially browser windows. Its one click on the taskbar and then simply scrolling through my tabs, since when do people open a new browser window for every page?

    I just find this new APP system very cluttered.

  5. antoin654 says:

    @BestTypoEver, Your vision of GUI is extremely one dimensional… From reverting from an already multitouch QWERTY keyboard to a single point-and-select system helped keep die hards from ever delving into GUI computing. I’d be happy to have this system with just a keyboard, even if there wasn’t a multitouch screen, full screen apps stacked makes more sense than randomly stacked windows… If you don’t want to progress, then don’t… Troglodyte.

  6. ihavegreenapples says:

    Handling windows makes more sense with 5 fingers.

  7. ihavegreenapples says:

    It pleases me on how the people who made this have thought of something like screen obstruction with your hands. This is good design.

  8. dlupascupruna says:

    I think this is a revolutionary move. I like the idea of moving towards a multi-touch interface.
    The only thing I have to object is the way information is displayed. there’s gotta be a better way to display data. maybe we need to look for another paradigm. the “windows” paradigm is awesome but it comes with its own restrictions.
    I’m very curious if 10GUI is going to be a paradigm in computing.

  9. BestTypoEver says:

    This idea fails hard.

    If anything it will reduce workflow, the mouse uses one hand – not two. This is more of a pain in the ass than anything else…

    I can’t see this being precise at all. What if the user has fat or stuby fingers?

    Bottom Line: Don’t try to fix something that doesn’t need fixing.

  10. Rileybdarby503 says:

    I really can see Apple implementing this in some new Mac/iOS platform such as the new iMacs/Macbooks. It just looks… beautiful.

  11. Randomocity0812 says:

    I just cant buy into this idea, it feels unrefined and overly complicated. Removing the mouse seems like a great idea at first, but at the end of the day I just cant see this ever replacing the standard mode of operation of a computer. I can do 90% of those tasks in half the time using a mouse and keyboard instead of trying to figure out where my fingers are in relation to the pad and what to do with them. Nice try, but you’re about 40 years from anything substantial.

  12. Capnbritish says:

    I think this is a really interesting idea but to be honest I don’t see it replacing the standard UI any time soon, sure multi touch interfaces are becoming far more prominent, and I’d love to see this sort of touch pad technology implemented into Windows, but after almost 20 years of the “Windows” interface, are we really going to let it go that easy?

    I’d certainly be willing to try it though.

  13. Thebignoobshow says:

    @samsarahsd …. HB improving… it saids in the video, the keyboard is lighting. and the pad thing in this video is not.
    So your neck will be tired? and you have two screens, one on your hands and one on your monitor, how would it be able to control and look at two screens? It brings up inconvinence.

  14. Thebignoobshow says:

    @anubis9109 Your eye is weak, man, you will be blind after using it for a month.

  15. nhelven says:

    hp’s way of a webOS Desktop OS…. sweet

  16. MountApple says:

    It just sucks if you have no fingers

  17. arf900 says:

    Nice, alot of people wouldnt be willing to move to it though. People wouldnt be able to survive without their mouses no matter how many iphones apple sells.

  18. anubis9109 says:

    I have to disagree a bit with con10uum. I believe that eye tracking technology will be a better solution to effectively navigating through windows and applications. Sense people will tend to look at what they are doing, by using eye tracking technology, the ability for the computer to interpret what the user wants to do will help the user by automating some of the things that the user would normally have to resort to mouse and keyboard techniques. a 3d mixed with this can use location memory

  19. samsarahsd says:

    I prefer the concept create in 2007 by HB Improving

  20. jimbracher98004 says:

    Very interesting.

    I like a lot of what I see here, but I’m not persuaded the visual display of information presented is optimal. The presentation doesn’t address the complexities of working in one window while needing to watch other windows. The flexibility of being able to re-size and move windows for different sizes of information is very useful, and it’s not clear this display paradigm will allow for that.

    I like ditching the mouse and moving to a touch pad interface. I like that a lot.

  21. Nightrider1367 says:

    @vampirnata Yes and no. I think that there are probably some people out there who feel constrained by the mouse and want to be able to do more with their hands. They want something that is more “tangible.” The fact that there is a 1:1 interface in front of the screen allows for quite a few possibilities. Sure the system isn’t perfect and at this stage not very effective, but this right here is something that my kids will probably grow up using.

  22. Jarrahs24 says:

    @CommandKey American Psycho Much ?

  23. vampirnata says:

    Nice presentation but I don’t see any advantage to this… In fact even if one were to get used to the multitouch navigation I still think that the mouse would be faster.

    The old saying stands: If it ain’t broke, DON’T FIX IT!

  24. Ne0nLiteZ says:

    @asantos
    how to people without fingers use phones at all? buttons are worse than touch.

  25. itsChrisN says:

    amazing…. i was left speechess

Leave a comment