How do I wipe a hard disk clean on an older computer?

My mom has an older computer, running Windows ME. I have tried to re-install ME several times but it always causes errors after a re-install. I want to wipe the hard disk clean, then install Windows ME onto a clean hard disk. Unfortunately, I’ve forgotten how to do it. Can anyone help me with this? I want to remove EVERYTHING from that hard disk, but Windows ME doesn’t let me. What do I do?

This entry was posted in Hard disk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How do I wipe a hard disk clean on an older computer?

  1. Joey says:

    Cannot remember myself, but if you can boot off the CDROM like with Win98, you can FORMAT the hard first, which is what it sounds like you need to do.

    If not on the Boot and format. Grab a Floppy, toss it in the drive and make a Windows Boot disk, should have Format on it and you can boot from it.

    Then reboot and go thru the install process.

  2. hatbocs says:

    Take a look at DBAN:
    http://www.dban.org/

    There’s a lot of ways to get it on some form of media that your mom’s computer can use.

  3. Tony RB says:

    You can erase the drive with the free program KillDisk

    http://www.killdisk.com/

    On the left side of the screen click the button
    “Download Free Version”

    to get this link:

    http://www.killdisk.com/downloadfree.htm

    Click the link labeled:
    Download Bootable ISO Image of Active@ KillDisk to burn CD

    This ISO file should be burned to a CD.
    Once done, you can boot the computer and select the disk erasing program (it does not run automatically).

    There is a DOS version that can be installed on a USB flash drive but I have not tried it, and don’t know if it will work in an older computer that might not be able to boot from USB.

    The DOS version can be installed on a floppy disk, but I haven’t tried it.

Leave a Reply

